SOLVED

Separating program from data in a VBA application

Brass Contributor

I'm new to VBA, but I come from a software development background.  I have written an Excel application entirely in VBA (there are no formulas in worksheets).  I am constantly enhancing the code, and fixing bugs, but the user interface (a worksheet) almost never changes.  I'm looking for a way to separate program from data, the way it is done in most software applications.

Here is an example of the problem: The user has version N of the application.  The user enters data and saves workbook, which is an .xlsm.  I distribute version N+1 of the program.   The user would like to use the data that they entered into the previous version with the latest version.  But to do that, they must open the old workbook, copy the data, and copy it into the new workbook.  This is because the data and the application are bound together.  It also results in proliferation of versions of the program.

The best solution I can come up with is to add an export/import feature to the application.  Now the application no longer keeps the data when you exit.  If you want to keep it, you must export it.  Export saves the data to an .xlsx.   When you start the application, it comes up without data, and you must import an .xlsx. This solution separates program from data, and it is not terribly difficult to implement. 

I was wondering if this is how others do it.  Does Excel have a standard design pattern for this use case?

9 Replies

@perkin_warbeck 

You might create an add-in (.xlam) to store the macros. When you change the code, you only need to send the user the new version of the add-in with instructions on where to copy it.

See for example How to Create and Use an Excel Add-in for more info.

@Hans Vogelaar I didn't know about add-ins.  Thank you for the link.  However I don't think my application lends itself to an add-in approach.  Let me be more specific about the nature of the application.