Repeat for Annually, Quarterly between 2 dates

Steel Contributor

Hello experts,

I am not sure if I will get a response here but thought I would ask anyways to check if an expert has a suggestion/solution.

I have a file with due dates based on if the frequency is either annually or quarterly.  

If annual, use one formula (cell D4)

If quarterly, use another. (cell D5)

I want to repeat t for the number of "hits" for annually and quarterly between the Start Date and End Date.  I need the result to be in 1 column. 

I assume a solution would be in VBA code (some kind of loop..Im not a programmer).  Kindly see the attached file with sample data.   After viewing, I think you will be able to see more clearly what I am trying to do.   Sorry for any confusion but its better to look at the file to understand completely.  The difficult part to me is repeating only between the start date and end date.  

Grateful for your assistance

16 Replies

@Tony2021 

This can definitely be done via formula; no need for VBA.

However, it's not clear to me--your formulas make no reference to them--what the numbers 90 and 60 have to do with anything in here. If you can clear that up....

The other observation, though: you clearly--from the formula you HAVE written--are quite conversant with Excel and Excel functions. I wonder why you haven't tried just a little bit harder to write your own solution; it's much more satisfying.

I would point you in two directions, directions I'd go in to resolve your situation. One is the IFS function, whereby you could write a single formula that would give you your results whether annual OR quarterly. https://exceljet.net/excel-functions/excel-ifs-function

The other, more recently released (and needing the newest version of Excel), and more powerful, is the LET function. It can help make a formula more efficient where there are repetitions of major portions of a formula. https://exceljet.net/excel-functions/excel-let-function

Hi Mathes,