Read a list of Node Name and its software name, then find the next Node Name

Copper Contributor

Hi,

Newbie here....I have a question.  What's the best way to read from a txt file that contains a list of Node Name and its Software Name, set it in a column1.....then reads the next Node Name and display in the second column2, etc...

Expected Output:

Node Name: C1                          Node Name: C2                               Node Name: C3

sw1                                             swname                                           swname

swname                                      swname                                           swname

etc....

Each Node Name column can have as many as between 20 to 300 sw under them.

Can someone help?  The text file is has a single column consists of Node Name follow by software name.

Thanks in advance,                         

14 Replies
Excel has built in command DATA then Get External data,, allows to import data from Text file also, where every record must be in a Row, and either separated by Space or Comma.

@Rajesh_Sinha 

I know that feature, but since my dataset is on a one long column without any separated commas, how can I set it into cols and rows per Node Name is the question.

@TB_VN 

How do we know that the text in one row is node name and in another one is software name? Perhaps you may share small sample file to illustrate.

@Sergei Baklan 

Text file contains:

NodeName: Server1

sw

sw

sw

sw

sw

etc..

NodeName: Server2

sw

sw

sw

sw

sw

sw

sw

sw

sw

sw

etc...

NodeName: Server3

sw

sw

sw

sw

sw

sw

etc...

Does this help?

The text will say "Node Name: Server1"...etc, same goes for Software Name: nameofsw in front it. These are probably the keywords you're after?

@TB_VN 

Yes, that's more clear now, thank you.