re-organize the first column to create separate columns

Copper Contributor

Hello, I am trying to reorganize a list of data, to create separate columns, so that I can calculate total sales per type of item, total amount owed. I'm attempting to use the VLookup function or Index Match. The Text Manager is not giving me the columns in the way that I have them set up.

3 Replies

@vwinston 

It's quite unlikely that anybody will be able to give you cogent advice based solely on the description you give. Could you upload the file (or a sample of it) so that we could actually see what it is you're working with?

Hello, thank you for responding. I'm a Career Tech teacher, and I'm working on a few projects to teach myself how to use Excel. Due to teacher shortages, I may be asked to teach these functions in the Fall. I'm new to using Excel to solve problems, and need some help. I'm working on two different problem sets today.

Problem 1:

Troop 137 from Girl Scouts of North Central Alabama has been selling Girl Scout cookies. As the troop leader hires you help analyze her data from last year’s sale. Access data in the spreadsheet tabs “Cookie Cost Data” and “Cookie Sale Data” and do the following tasks: 

1.  Under Part 1-Q1 tab, re-organize the first column to create separate columns to represent Girl Scout Type (Daisy, Brownie, etc.), Girl Scout Name (Daisy #1, Daisy #2, …., Brownie #1,…, etc.), and Order number (Order 1, Order 2, …, etc.) Your final product should look similar to the first four columns of Part 1- Q2, highlighted in yellow. 

2. The troop leader is interested in total Girl Scout cookie sales per Girl Scout. Using the data under Part 1-Q2 tab, 
a. Calculate the total boxes of each cookie type by each girl scout; 
b. Calculate the total boxes of each cookie type by each girl scout type (e.g., total daisy sales, total brownie sales, etc); 

3. The troop leader pays the council for the total amount of boxes her troop sells.