SOLVED

Question about Excel

Copper Contributor

Hi Everyone!

I'm trying to do something I have never tried before.  Normally, I can figure most things out using online forums, but I'm not even sure how to phrase a search for this.  So, here it goes.

I have a list of people, each with 5 options associated with them.  Looks sort of like this (slashes indicated separation of colums):

Person 1/Option 1/Option 2/Option 3/Option 4/Option 5/Column 6/Column 7

Person 2/Option 1/Option 2/Option 3/Option 4/Option 5/Column 6/Column 7

And so on.  What I want to do is create another column (this would be Column 6) where I can type in Option 1 or Option 3 or whatever option I choose and have the cell in Column 7 extract the data that correlates.  

Anyone know of a way to do this?  

Please let me know if it doesn't make any sense.

Thank you!

Anton Dagner

6 Replies
Can you please format some excel example?
The way you mentioned can confuses us.
I'm sure it can help with some ideas I have in mind, but I would like your assistance on provide some sample of how the data is distributed.

@AntonDagner 

Here is an example of what I'm trying to do:

Example.JPG

@Juliano-Petrukio Thanks for replying.  Just joined this forum today and have no idea how this all works, but I replied to my original message.  Here is a screen shot of what I have set up.  What I am trying to do is put in the cells under the heading "Bonus Level" is a number from 1 through 5 and have it pull the amounts from the corresponding columns into the "Bonus Amount" field.  This way, I can change the Bonus Level numbers and have the Bonus Amounts auto populate.  

Example.JPG

best response confirmed by AntonDagner (Copper Contributor)
Solution

@AntonDagner 

It will return the value based on your choice in column J (considering numbers 1 to 5) as per your example;

=INDEX(E3:I3,1,J3)

Perfect. Thank you!