Pulling non-number data from a pivot table

Copper Contributor

I am fairly new to pivot tables and am stuck on the getpivotdata function.  I have a pivot table set up like the attached example, with vendor names, contract titles, contract numbers, expiration dates, and some $ info.  I need to pull the expiration dates and contract numbers into a separate sheet, without the references breaking every time the pivot table gets rearranged.  The data in the pivot table comes from an online database, not an excel table.

Is there a way to do this with getpivotdata?  Or do I need some other sort of workaround?  I have looked and looked online but not found anything that seems to help, as all the reference materials I've found only provide examples with numerical/sum column data.  Any answers much appreciated, thanks in advance.

7 Replies

@s_christel 

Try another pivot table:

Contract Number and Revised End Date in the rows area.

@Detlef LewinDo you mean build a new pivot table using the first pivot table as a source?  The fields you mention are already in the "rows" area.  I'm not sure building a second pivot table will work either because I need to add data/columns for things that aren't in the original source data (and not calculated fields, either, but strings like dates).  That's why I'm trying to pull the pivot table data into a regular table.

@s_christel 

I'm not sure building a second pivot table will work either because I need to add data/columns for things that aren't in the original source data (and not calculated fields, either, but strings like dates). 

You didn't mention this in your first statement.

Please provide a sample file that explains the whole scope of what you are trying to achieve.

@Detlef Lewin