SOLVED

Processing a list of data through a separate excel setup

Copper Contributor

I have a complicated spreadsheet which only allows one input case at a time. I have around 200 input cases. Instead of creating 200 spreadsheets I would like to write a marco which runs each case through the spreadsheet and saves the output in a summary sheet. 

In my simplified example below I would want to copy A2 to F2 and B2 to F3 then copy F4 to C2 as a number value, then repeat copying A3 to F2 and so on until the C column is complete. 

curry2445_0-1598371810037.png

I am new to VBA. I feel I need to use a loop but I'm not sure how to write it to achieve the above. 

Any advice would be appreciated. 

Thanks

8 Replies

@curry2445 I know you said it is a simplified example but I'm not sure why you need to copy the values over to perform that calculation and then copy the value back.  Why can't column C just be =a2*b2 and fill down?  Even if for some reason you do need to copy the values then you still only need to do it once.

If you truly need to do all these steps and want/need VBA then you probably want to do most if not all the calculations in VBA instead of sheet formulas then.  So although I could show you a simple VBA that copies cell contents from A2 to ... it is really not worth much since it is almost certainly not what you should do.  

So maybe give us a more accurate example (ideally the actual spreadsheet with personal info like names and other personal info anonymized).

@mtarler 

I need to input cells C13, C14, C21, C22, D26, F26 and G26 into the MAIN tab in the attached sheet from an input sheet which looks like the capture image.

E2=C13, D2=C14, F2=C21, F2=C22, G2=D26, J2=F26 and K2=G26

Then I want to extract from the spreadsheet tab 'Cases' Q15 and V15 and insert them N2 and O2 respectively. 

Then continue this on repeat from 2 to ~200.