SOLVED

PowerQuery - Editing / Replacing Values

New Contributor

Hello Excel community!

I am very new to Excel PowerQuery and I would really appreciate if you can help me with solving the issue below.

So I have imported the dataset to PowerQuery, all good. Obviously my dataset have a number of null on each column.

I can fill in some of the null values using the data from the other columns and resolve what data goes to those null values, however, I cannot edit the cells. I can replace the values of null, but each individual null will have different values, so I cannot use that option.

So, below is a screenshot of part of the dataset - so the City have nulls but I can obviously deduct the City names using the State data.

SuziieeWuziiee_1-1646751653933.png

If I cannot replace any data in PowerQuery can I load the data to the worksheet and edit there?

Or, I need to prepare the data first before tidying the data up, then load to PowerQuery?

Any help would be so appreciated, thank you!

Hope that is clear.

4 Replies
best response confirmed by SuziieeWuziiee (New Contributor)
Solution

Hi @SuziieeWuziiee 

that's right, you cannot edit individual cells in Power Query.

One option (you named it already), would be to fill the missing cities already in the data source, before you load it into Power Query.

If that's not possible (e.g. data comes from an external database) and the information is also included in another field (le.g. in the State field), then you can try to extract it from there.

How to do it in detail depends on the pattern that you have in the other field. I understand that some of the states include the city name and some don't.

Let's say the state contains the city and it's separated by a comma from the state:

DTE_0-1646754252550.png

Split the column by delimiter and use the comma as delimiter:

DTE_1-1646754368711.png

DTE_2-1646754426810.png

Then add a new conditional column:

DTE_4-1646754598524.png