SOLVED

Please help! Tangled up in a nested IF formula for DnD!

Copper Contributor

HI everyone, first time posting - I've come here for some much needed help!  I've spent days creating a ginormous excel workbook that randomly generates everything I need to run my Dungeons and Dragons game.  I've used this nested IF formula in the workbook already and it's worked fine but I'm lost as to why it is getting tangled up here.

I appreciate that it is a lengthy one but I'm just a keen, self-taught amateur so apologies if I'm doing it in a very messy way!...

This is my formula (return spaces added to make it easier to read):

=@IF('NPC Descriptions'!K7="human",(INDEX(Names!$AW$47:$AW$48,RANDBETWEEN(1,COUNTA(Names!$AW$47:$AW$48)),1)),

IF('NPC Descriptions'!K7="dwarf",(INDEX(Names!$AW$32:$AW$33,RANDBETWEEN(1,COUNTA(Names!$AW$32:$AW$33)),1),

IF('NPC Descriptions'!K7=”elf”,(INDEX(Names!$AW$35:$AW$36,RANDBETWEEN(1,COUNTA(AND(Names!$AW$35:$AW$36)),1),

IF('NPC Descriptions'!K7=”half-elf”,(INDEX(AND(Names!$AW$35:$AW$36, Names!$AW$47:$AW$48),RANDBETWEEN(1,COUNTA(AND(Names!$AW$35:$AW$36, Names!$AW$47:$AW$48))),1),

(IF('NPC Descriptions'!K7="halfling",(INDEX(Names!$AW$38:$AW$39,RANDBETWEEN(1,COUNTA(Names!$AW$38:$AW$39)),1),

IF('NPC Descriptions'!K7="half-orc",(INDEX(AND(Names!$AX$7:$AX$8,Names!$AW$47:$AW$48),RANDBETWEEN(1,COUNTA(AND(Names!$AX$7:$AX$8,Names!$AW$47:$AW$48))),1),

IF('NPC Descriptions'!K7="tiefling",(INDEX(Names!$AW$50:$AW$51,RANDBETWEEN(1,COUNTA(Names!$AW$50:$AW$51)),1),

IF('NPC Descriptions'!K7="dragonborn",

(INDEX(Names!$AW$53:$AW$54,RANDBETWEEN(1,COUNTA(Names!$AW$53:$AW$54)),1)),(INDEX(Names!$AW$41:$AW$42,RANDBETWEEN(1,COUNTA(Names!$AW$41:$AW$42)),1))))))))