SOLVED

ODBC data connection with parameter from drop down

Brass Contributor

Hi there,

Via ODBC I am connecting to a Pervasive (version 13) database. Is there a way for me to somehow make use of a parameter? For example, in the below screenshot I've shown (although it is not syntactically correct) that I'd like to somehow use the named cell selected_pperiod as a parameter in my query. Is this even possible? And if it is, how would I go about passing a parameter in my SQL query?

screenshot.png

Many thanks,

Michelle

12 Replies

@Michelle99 

Generate query with any hardcoded parameter, e.g. 102. After that in advanced editor add getting parameter string and correct generated query with it, like

let
    parameter = Excel.CurrentWorkbook(){[Name="selected_pperiod"]}[Content]{0}[Column1],

...."start query" & parameter & "end query"
Thank you very much for such a prompt reply. I am quite new at connecting to data from within excel. When you say “generate query”... quite honestly all I know how to do is click the “Get Data” button and enter my sql in there. Could you please tell me how to generate the query and where to write that code?

(Sorry I’m catching up on years here of excel inactivity.)

@Michelle99 

First you initiate connection as (in your case from ODBC)

image.png

On next step click Transform (not Load)

image.png

Open Home-Advanced Editor for Power Query, it'll be something like

let
    Source = Sql.Database("server", "database", [Query="select * from Department where Id=8"])
in
    Source

Modify code as

let
    parameter = Excel.CurrentWorkbook(){[Name="selected_pperiod"]}[Content]{0}[Column1],
    Source = Sql.Database("server", "database",
        [Query="select * from Department where Id=" & parameter ])
in
    Source

Click Done. If works you may load the query from here

image.png