not printing cells based on data in another cell

Copper Contributor

Hello, I am a novice excel and am trying to not print the data in cells based on what is in another cell in the same row.  This is a name and address file but cannot show the phone number and or e-mail address if the resident has opted out.

The attached file has a cell that has 3 options;

1. if cell is blank(null) do not print the email

2. if cell says 'ShowNameAndAddress' do not print phone number or email

3. if cell  says 'ShowNameAndContactInformation' then print what is there.

I tried doing with pivot table and power query but didn't see what I need to do. Can this be done in excel

5 Replies

@fjpalinkas  

There are a couple of ways to handle this. Before I get to that, I used the Special formatting options under Number formatting to display telephone numbers as we normally see them. You still just enter the 10 digits, and Excel takes care of formatting them.

mathetes_0-1628960185036.png

Now, to your actual question, probably the most effective long term solution would be to learn to use the Excel database as a source for a MailMerge in Word. You can print the fields you want based on the cell containing the criterion for each group. If this is going to be a long term project, with varying conditions each time, new members, members changing their mind, etc., that would be my recommendation.

Easier would be to learn to use the Filter capability represented by those little funnel symbols at the top of each column. You could filter the database based on "OptinSelection" choices, and then choose columns to print. That would get burdensome if you're doing all the changing I allude to above, but if this is a one-off proposition, easily done. I've set it coming in the attached return file so only the blank rows are showing. And you can just set the print area to print names.

mathetes_1-1628960488106.png