Multiple =IF Function

Copper Contributor

Community Excel Screen Shot.png

Dear Community,

First, I’m rather new to Excel and have no programming background.  Maybe I’ve undertaken more than I can handle, but I’m a quick learner.  I’ll keep this a short as possible.

I’m retired and volunteered to measure golf courses via GIS/GNSS satellite data collection (latitudes/longitudes/elevations in decimal degrees).  The post-processed field data is given in .csv format in an Excel spreadsheet.

To facilitate building a final Field Measurement sheet, I’ve taught myself many Excel procedures to transfer this data (e.g. how to catenate columns, employ VLOOKUP to accurately populate the correct cells, etc.)

The very last step before I start to populate the “Golf Measure Form” is to satisfy the various distance scenarios encountered in the field.  Each Pivot Point (e.g. PP1) has an offset distance from the true “as the crow flies” Tee to Green Center (GC) distance.  The scenarios are as follows:

• Tee to GC - Straight point to point distance.
  • Tee to PP1 to GC - Three points, two distances greater than 1)
  • Tee to PP1 to PP2 to GC - Four points, three distances greater than 2)
  • Tee to PP1 to PP2 to PP3 to GC - Five points, four distances greater than 3)

It is not as simple as an =SUM solution because of the PP’s given restraints.  The summation MUST match the proper scenario 1, 2, 3 or 4. Any given golf hole, we do not know which scenario will be encountered.  I have tried various =IF strings and other Excel formula solutions to capture the progressive logic without success.

7 Replies

@ProTee 

Welcome, to one retiree from another.