SOLVED

Missing get and transform data

Copper Contributor

hi all, 

i am new to excel and id like to add an api to one of my sheets, however even tho i have 2016 excel version there is no get and transform data for me which is what id really need. 

can anyone help me understand why its just not there? even tho i have 2016 version? 

thanks

18 Replies

@DanTN123 

Is it Windows or Mac?

hi, i am on windows 10 pro

@DanTN123 

So, you see nothing here ?

image.png

yea so basically i do not see any of the get and transform data section. i see queries and connections, data types, sort and filter, data tools and outline. but get and transform data is nowhere to be seen for me

@DanTN123 

When it shall be one of these versions

image.png

oh right. What version do u suggest i should go for to get the get and transform data?

@DanTN123 

If upgrade I'd suggest on Excel 365 or at least on Excel 2021.  Concrete channel/version depends on needs. You may check here Power Query data sources in Excel versions (microsoft.com)  which connectors are available for each version.

i was looking at plans and upgrades and i see that microsoft 365 personal plan gives the latest version of excel. would this solve my issue? thanks again u have been a great help
i'M USING oFFOCE 10 BUILD 19042 ON A pc. MY LATEST WORKSHEET DOESNB'T SHOW THE CELL THE CURSON IS IN AND i CAN'T FIND A FIX. hOW DO i HIHGLIGHT HTE CELL MY CURSOR IS POINTING TO?
best response confirmed by DanTN123 (Copper Contributor)
Solution

@DanTN123 

I'm not familiar with consumer versions. In general on subscription model ( Microsoft 365 ) you always have the latest functionality compare to similar perpetual version. The latest has fixed functionality and updating only bug fixes and security patches.

On Microsoft 365 set of features depends on subscription level and distribution channel. Enterprise has the richest functionality, other levels we have to check.