SOLVED

Microsoft's Monthly College Budget Template Excel 2013 - how it works ?

Copper Contributor

Hey everyone! It's my first time asking an online community anything. I usually found out the answer on the internet (on previous posts) but recently I've been struggling a lot to understand this excel budget template. (link: https://templates.office.com/en-us/monthly-college-budget-tm02930047

I'm a beginner with advanced formulas like INDEX, scroll bar/dropdown linked to charts, and Dynamic Charts (PivotCharts). I did find the  "Chart_Calcs" hidden worksheet but it did not help much. There's also the use of Power Query. 

If someone could explain to me how the charts (clustered bar & line) are linked to the dropdown, the scroll bar and the income/expense/cash flow data at the same time, I'd be very grateful. This template seems very complicated.

Thank You. 

9 Replies
best response confirmed by arjunrr (Copper Contributor)
Solution

@arjunrr   I understand Excel, and still fully agree with you that this template is very (I'd say "overly") complicated. It suffers from the same syndrome that too many of the Excel templates suffer from (IMHO) and that is that it's too cute. Whoever developed it was aiming for sizzle rather than substance. It may indeed have substance, but it's obscured by unnecessary features such as the "slider" (a drop down selector for the month would be equally effective, but less jazzy, so jazzy it is, functional it's not).

And unless I missed it, I didn't see how you would enter income and expenses in an itemized way; looked more like you had to track the raw data somewhere else.

Frankly, if I were you, I'd go find another template. Or create my own.