make 2 cells on different pages mirror each other.

Copper Contributor

What I need to do is as follows.

Sheet 1 Cell A1 Mirror Sheet 2  Cell D4

Sheet 1 Cell A2 Mirror Sheet 3 Cell D4

Sheet 2 Cell D4 Mirror Sheet 1  Cell A1

Sheet 3 Cell D4 Mirror Sheet 1 Cell A2

I need to be able to change the value on either side and it change the other. 

5 Replies

@mark_bates You would need some VBA coding in each of the worksheets own code area. The code checks if there was a change in the cell(s) specified and then changes the other cell, but only if the other cell has a different value. 

The attached workbook contains a working example.

@Riny_van_EekelenThank you for the info.  I am a contractor and I am trying to improve the excel spreadsheet I made to bid jobs.  I am learning a lot about how it all works but I must admit I am surely a novice at best. Would you be able to tell me the steps to implement those codes?  Thanks in advance.

@mark_bates Let me first ask the question if you only need to mirror a few cells, like in your example. Because, when you have a lot of them and on a lot of sheets, it could easily get out of hand. And since you are trying to improve an existing sheet, I wonder if you can't set it up in a different way so that the need to mirror cells in the way you describe it on different sheets goes away. I suspect that these mirrored cells are parameters of some sort that need to change in both sheets, if certain conditions are met. If so, you will be better off creating a separate table with all these parameters and rules, and link all relevant cells to this table. There are many ways to achieve this but it depends a bit on how you have set-up your data. Would also be good to know which Excel version you are on.