Mail Merge Questions... New to Mail Merge and on a Mac

Copper Contributor

Hello all, 
I am new to Mail Merge and I have been handed a difficult task (for me anyways). Please be know that I am on a Mac and a lot of PC work arounds have not been working. 

Is there a way to mail marge checkmarks (tick) into a work document from excel?

Also is there a way to remove blank merge field lines, such as a second address line (using excel and word)?

Example:

Name 

Street address 

Suite #/ Apt# (remove this one if blank)

City State Zip?

Thank you for any help you can think of

9 Replies

@AndreaG729 

Let me commend Word's "Help" function to you. I know it's possible to do what you ask in your second question. I just did a quick search in the Help area, using "conditional mail merge" as my search term and came up with the following:

mathetes_0-1583181428585.png

I don't know about the check marks (ticks) question... You might be able to save time and energy if you could come up with a text-based alternative. E.g., using a "Y" or "X" to indicate the same thing that you want the checked box to indicate.

Mail merge, though, as you might expect, can handle a lot of tricky things. This "conditional" or "if...then...else" is a fairly basic function. It no doubt will take a bit of fooling around. And it might be a matter, not of removing that Apt # field if blank, but rather of using it if filled. But either way, I know it can be made to work.

@mathetes 
Thank you I didn't think to use "conditional"  in my search ( I feel like I used every other word then that). I saw videos that showed how but they were  all PC so I was not able to follow, but thank you so much I will try this and let you know!! 

@mathetes 

This works if you don't have any other fields that needs merging. There is a section in my document that I need to do this on.