Macros for hiding rows based on date

Copper Contributor

It seems it should be simple but I have spent a few days on this so am reaching out.  I am just learning Macros and am blown away by what it does, but this one situation is driving me crazy.  I have an Excel doc that the first sheet is entered by Admin Staff, then on the second sheet is the exact same info for 6 columns.  This is the sheet that the Senior staff will be looking at.  What we want on the second sheet is that any row, with a date before "today" in Column F, be hidden so that the Senior Staff only see what is of a concern to them at this point.  We need to keep the info though, that is why there is a sheet one, but on sheet two they will only see staff with a date of today or later.  Also would like to have a macro that unhides these rows.  Would like to set up buttons or toggles so they are just clicked to update the information, but are able to unhide if needed.  i have tried multiple codes and am lost here as why it will not work for me. I know there are other simple ways, but using a button will help as Senior staff only want simple and fast.  Does anyone have suggestions?  Thank you.

10 Replies

@MVelve 

With your permission, if I can recommend, It’s helpful to know your operating system and Excel version, as different approaches may be required depending on the version and OS.

Nevertheless,, give this a try (untested but should work)

Private Sub Worksheet_Activate()
Dim i As Long
Dim heute As Date
Sheets("Topics for the next meeting ").Activate
For i = ActiveSheet.UsedRange.Rows.Count to 1 Step -1
Range("A" & i).Select
If ActiveCell.Value > date - 1 Then
ActiveCell.EntireRow.Hidden = True
Else
End If
Next i
End Sub

'Please adjust according to your needs

Thank you for your understanding and patience

I would be happy to know if I could help.

Nikolino

I know I don't know anything (Socrates)