Macro issue with email connectivity

Copper Contributor

so i have a macro that i send each day for work - it's on my excel spreadsheet. it's supposed to automatically send my pnl sheet to the designated people on email. it works fine on my home laptop, but here on this computer it doesn't work for some reason

not sure if it's because there is an issue that the email is not linked somehow? or that maybe my antivirus is blocking - 

21 Replies

@unhappyuser Unfortunately, that's not much to go on...Does the code error? If so, what's the error? If it doesn't throw an error, but doesn't do anything else either, then I'd suggest stepping through the code with F8. It will help point you in the right direction.

It'll also help if you posted the code.

@Smitty Smith Can you explain the "step through the code with F8"?  I'm not a techie, so not sure what that means.  When I click "send PNL", nothing happens.  I then tried to click F8 as you mentioned, but nothing happened so I'm assuming there is something else I need to do here to gather the code.  Pls advise.  Thanks

@unhappyuser I'd first check and make sure your macro is assigned to the "Send PNL" button. If that doesn't fix it, then press Alt+F11 to open the VB Editor, then find the module with your mail routine in it. Once there, pressing F8 will step through the code one line at a time, so you can see what's going on. If the code throws an error you'll be able to see where.

FYI - Pressing F8 in Excel toggles Extend Selection. I point that out because it can drive you nuts if you turn it on and don't realize it.

@Smitty Smith 

Sub sendpnlemailandprint()

' sendemailtopositions Macro
' Macro recorded 3/19/2010 by d.namdar
' Mail_SheetsArray()

Dim strDate As String
Dim strDate2 As String
ActiveWorkbook.Save
Sheets(Array("POSIT", "RECAP", "-P&L-", "MTD")).Copy
strDate = Format(Date, "mm-dd-yy") & " " & Format(Time, "h-mm-ss")
strDate2 = Format(Date, "mm-dd-yy")