looking up across sheets?

Copper Contributor

Hi there,

I am a teacher trying to work on next year's timetable, and I am allocating staff to classes.

On Sheet 1 I have the classes listed with the number of lessons a fortnight:

Mosomiv_0-1597799501619.png

In column C I will type the teachers 3-letter code so I know who is teaching that class:

Mosomiv_1-1597799575973.png

So far so good.

Now in Sheet 2 I want the teachers to be allocated their classes, so I can see how many lessons that teacher has (what their load is):

Mosomiv_2-1597799745256.png

I want column B and C to be filled from Sheet 1.

I enter the teachers codes in Sheet 1 against the class, and Sheet 2 is automatically populated with the class code and the number of lessons against the appropriate teacher.

To help with doing the sums, I wouldn't mind if Sheet 2 looked like this:

Mosomiv_3-1597799845003.png

but that's not the end of the world if it doesn't.

Any thoughts on how to do this? Any help would be much appreciated.

Thanks

5 Replies

@Mosomiv 

To further complicate matters, i need this to work for all the classes, so there will be multiple columns

eg

Mosomiv_0-1597808026473.png

So the Maths staffing may end up looking like this (for Years 7 & 8 for example):

Mosomiv_1-1597808154473.png

Again, any help or suggestions would be very much appreciated!

Thanks

@Mosomiv 

You may use INDEX/MATCH https://www.excel-easy.com/examples/index-match.html to return lessons and their numbers based on teacher code and class number. If you provide sample file it'll be easier to illustrate on formula.

@Sergei Baklan 

Thanks for your reply, I was thinking maybe Index and Match would do it, but I need to learn how to use them better.

My concern is if one teacher is teaching 2 year 7 Maths classes, how do i get both classes listed against their name? How do I do a formula that puts all of their classes across the row against their name?

I've attached the file for you to have a look at.