Large space suddenly appeared between formula bar & A1 - HELP!?

Copper Contributor

I don't know what happened or how to fix this. Suddenly I have a large space between the formula bar and the beginning of my spreadsheet (A1) and I can only read about 3 lines of information. Not only did this happen on the spreadsheet I was working on but it spread to ALL of my workbooks, including when I I tried to open a brand new one. It's like Excel itself went crazy. What happened & how can I fix this?

Sherri

34 Replies

@Anonomous_300 Thank you so much!  It worked like a charm :)

I did this, then I saw and deleted the restricted workbook ribbon. Deleting this ribbon fixed the problem. I then recheck the formula bar to return to normal.

@Sherri Lawry  I had this problem and I wasn't finding the right answers on line so I started playing around. I tried clicking on Display Settings at the bottom right and chose "Optimize for compatibility" instead of "Optimize for best appearance". I had to shut down Excel and when I reopened the workbook the white space was gone.

Sophie_N1210_0-1644626532331.png

This helpled.  I dragged the open XLS, with the large white area between the formula bar and the actual spreadsheet, from my external monitor ( I run with 2 external monitors in addition to my laptop screen) to my laptop screen and POOF! the large white area went away.  I then was able to drag it back to my external monitor and it stayed in great shape!!  Thanks!

@Anonomous_300 

Thank you, this immediately fixed the double spacing formula bar problem.
This was exactly the issue....this bugged me for weeks and I'm so glad it's gone now. Thank you!

@RonnieM05 Do you have an add-in or labeling algorithm that could be trying to post messages in that area? I found that our IT department has added a script to label content, and these seem to be popping up in a space between the formula bar and the spreadsheet.