Kutools

Copper Contributor

I have thinking of using Kutools for a couple of years now and would welcome feedback on it. Does anyone here have experience with it? Is it secure?

10 Replies

@gkbluestocking 

Kutools is a utility with a good reputation from a company with a good reputation. so I wouldn't hesitate buying it.

It is not free though. As an alternative, you might consider ASAP Utilities. It is free for home use.

Thank you very much. I went ahead and downloaded Kutools and am excited to try it.
How did it go with Kutools?

@gkbluestocking 

I download and tried Kutools for Excel and I Do Not recommend it. I've been using excel for over 20 years (I work in accounting and finance) and the following are the reasons why I don't recommend Kutools: 

1. the software continuously conflicts with links and other formula entries but never specifies where the errors or conflicts are.
  2. it is very confusing to use, even with the manual that you can download.
  3. it is very extensive and not helpful for beginners or experienced users (imo) , it's even confusing for me.
  4. Learning Excel vs Kutools:
    1. why study a Kutools manual when you can just learn Excel (and even earn certificates in the process if you wish too?)
    2. There are GREAT online Excel learning recourses online both free and paid, and like I mentioned you can even get certified (great for careers)
    3. if you need help in excel, the program itself offers an in-program help tool that is very helpful. 

In summary, I feel that paying for Kutools for Excel is a giant waist of money, if you are going to pay for something, spend the money on an Excel training course, you spend just as much of your time in learning and get way more benefit!  

All Com Add-in are good ideas for enhance Excel.
But,
I prefer standalone exe or online web service solution to add-in because whatever you use it or not it will load and occupy some memory.