IFNA Blank Cell Output?

Copper Contributor

Good-morning!

This is my first time posting here.  I have a question regarding replacing N/A with blank cells.

I am using the IFNA function to replace N/A values returned from VLOOKUP with blank cells, however when I do this, subsequent calculations using these cells result in errors (i realize the cell isn't truly blank).  The only way I have found to fix it is to replace N/A with 0s but for my data it is really important to differentiate between no data (blank cell) and a 0 value.  Is there any way to replace N/A with a true blank cell that will still work in further calculations?  Any help would be greatly appreciated! Thanks

10 Replies

@lhunter700 

Unfortunately, formulas cannot return a truly blank value, and Microsoft has turned down a very popular request to add that as a new feature :(

Whether an empty string "" as return value disrupts calculations depends on the calculation:

• A test ISBLANK(cell) will return FALSE for a cell with a formula returning "", but cell="" will return TRUE.
  • A formula such as =A1+C1 will return #VALUE! if A1 or C1 contains a formula returning "", but =SUM(A1,C1) will ignore "" (and all other text values)
  • The formula =COUNTA(...) will include cells with a formula returning "" in the count, but =COUNT(...) will only count cells with a numeric value (including dates).
Thanks for the validation. Even though I couldn't figure it out, I thought there had to be a way to return a truly blank cell (definitely would be a great feature to add) so now I know.

Do you know of any way to replace a cell that is not truly blank with a truly blank cell?

Alternatively do you know a work-around for using these "blank cells" in division (as you outlined for addition in your reply above)?

The formula i am using is fairly simple (if long) but each cell (H4, K4, etc) is a cell that may have been N/A.