If a cell has a text, how to move the cell associated to it to a new location (T&F Coach)

Copper Contributor

Good morning,

I am a track and field coach, and I am trying to create an all-in one spreadsheet that will save me time when making rosters.

I have attached a fake roster where I have a list of names and the event each kid would be competing.  My roster is in alphabetical order and I figured out a way to get a count of the number of athletes in each event (right side of the spreadsheet), so that I know how many kids I will have in each event. 

However.....My question is is there a way to search for all athletes who are competing in the 100 and then move the name associated with it to the bottom of the sheet where it would show ALL athletes who are running the 100 underneath that slot of the spreadsheet instead of copying and pasting by hand?    The same would be for each event.  I am looking for a formula that can search for "100" and then move all the names that have "100" in their row as an event to the column at the bottom of the sheet under the 100 tab.

That way, as a timer, I can see who all is running the 100m dash all in one place instead of having to search by name to see what kid is doing what event.

I hope this makes sense and I am looking for help in such a bad way!

Thanks in advance!!

6 Replies

@Joedogg555 

I'm sure there are other ways to do this (Excel always has multiple ways to skin the cat), but the simplest and most straight-forward is to set your roster up as a table and use the Data...Filter capability. I've done that here for the folks running the 100. All of the others are still there, just filtered out of the view for now.

See those little carets at the top next to each heading? Click on the caret for "Event" and you can change the filter.