I have an idea! But I need a plan

Copper Contributor

Hello. 

I'm a student on a budget, and I've been trying to make my life easier, by creating a "foodplanner" spreadsheet in Excel, that will help me save money, and save time planning.

Thing is; I don't have the skill or the experience to figure out how to solve the conundrum, that my idea(s) for what I would like this spreadsheet to be able to do, has generated. 

So, I thought I'd pass my thoughts through here, and see what advice the kind, and clever people of the internet would grant me. 

The idea is making a spreadsheet that will allow me to enter recipes; list the pricing of each recipe and the individual ingredients; easily pick which recipes you would like to make, for each day of a particular week, and have the spreadsheet automatically consider and figure out, what ingredients you will need to purchase, based on what ingredients you already have in your kitchen (essentially have it make a shopping list, based on the recipes picked)- and, of course, do more simple things like write out the total cost etc.

Also, it would be so cool, if the spreadsheet could calculate which of the recipes/dishes use the same ingredients, and have it come up with foodplan-suggestions, based on those ingredient synergies- let's call them. That way, it would be easier to make a foodplan, optimized for saving money!

I understand that this would probably require a bunch of manually fed data; the recipes, ingredients, store prices, which ingredients you already have, and how much of it you have left etc. 

For the recipes and their ingredients, I thought to use a nice little cook-book I bought when I moved out.

For the store prices of the ingredients, I will have to do some field work in my local grocery store- buy the wares for the recipes, and enter the data into the spreadsheet.