SOLVED

How to fill multiple worksheets

Copper Contributor

Hi, sorry if this has been asked but I'm unable to find the answer. I have a sheet with my students information on it and I want to autofill each students information onto individual worksheets. How do I tell excel that student 'x' name from cell A2 should go into cell B3 in worksheet Student (1) and student 'x' name from cell A3 should go into cell B3 in worksheet Student (2)??? And I should warn you that you may have to use crayons to explain this to me because I am an excel novice. TIA. 

5 Replies

@adevaughn 

There are often, in Excel, many ways to accomplish a given objective. In your case, it might be helpful if you gave us a bit more of the complete picture. What's the nature of the data you expect to have on each student, for example, and why do you want to have a separate spreadsheet on each student? I can understand having the ability to print out a full report on a single student, but that doesn't necessarily mean that each student needs to have her or his separate and permanent spreadsheet. It's fairly easy to extract data from a master database, a database containing all relevant into on ALL the students to report, one-by-one on each individual. 

So if you could provide a more complete picture of what you're doing here, making sure you're not making assumptions based, say, on prior paper methods of tracking all this. Excel has remarkable abilities to manage data, and a common newbie mistake is to picture it as mainly a bit more automated but basically still a replica of prior paper records with you doing a lot of the "heavy lifting."

If it's possible, could you post a copy of whatever spreadsheet you may already have, just making sure that no real names of real students are included. Use the names of favorite movie characters.