SOLVED

How to delete rows using some criteria and writing a macro ?

Brass Contributor

Hello friends,

I'm pretty new to the macros but as i have started working in excel my job is getting difficult as i go through the data. i need to delete rows which only have date and time in the first column and the rest columns have other data, now the problem is i want to delete some unwanted rows from this data on certain criteria that if there is no data in the other columns the whole rows which have date and time mentioned it be deleted.

As the data set is huge it needs to have an automated way to do it hence asking for help.

I need help in sorting this out.

Attaching the file which i need to sort.

Regards,

Aditya

4 Replies

Hi Aditya,

please find attached my solution using VBA. The macro text is:

Sub ConditionallyDeleteRows()

Dim vaData As Variant
    Dim rData As Range
    Dim r As Long, c As Integer
    Dim iFirstDataRow As Integer
    Dim bDeleteRow As Boolean

Set rData = Range(ActiveSheet.ListObjects(1).Name)
    vaData = rData

iFirstDataRow = rData.Row

For r = UBound(vaData, 1) To LBound(vaData, 1) Step -1
        bDeleteRow = False
        If IsDate(vaData(r, 1)) Then
            For c = 2 To UBound(vaData, 2)
                If Len(Trim(vaData(r, c))) Then
                    bDeleteRow = False
                    Exit For
                Else
                    bDeleteRow = True
                End If
            Next

If bDeleteRow Then
                Rows(r + iFirstDataRow - 1).Delete
            End If

End If
    Next

End Sub

I have tested it on a smaller set of data. Running it on your entire dataset will take a while.

Just to mention, that you can also use Power Query to achieve a similar solution.

Yury

Dear Yury,