SOLVED

How to attach specific dates to a specific category that is in the dropdown menu??? Help !

Copper Contributor

Hello All, 

I am trying to create a worksheet of several of my accounts category review schedules and simply putting their information in one place that is easy to use and maintain. That being said, I am a newbie with excel and I need to know how to attach specific dates to a specific category that is in the dropdown menu. 

Example:

Sprouts - Category(Aromatherapy in the dropdown list) - Submission Deadline date is : 

I have attached my worksheet for a visual. 

Thank you in advance!!! 

10 Replies

@NeedHelp1015 

That's a formal logic is not defined how Excel knows which date to which category to attach.

best response confirmed by NeedHelp1015 (Copper Contributor)
Solution

@NeedHelp1015 

I notice that you have all the items for your dropdown list written in the Source-field of the Conditional Formatting dialogue box. It's better to create a list of all items in a separate sheet and then create a reference to that list in the Source-field. And then you can add the logic that @Sergei Baklan was aiming at. You need to determine the date to be attached to each Category yourself. Once that has been accomplished, it's easy to fill in the date, based upon the selected Category.

I've attached a revised version of your sheet to demonstrate the principle. It uses Structured Tables and the VLOOKUP function to find the dates. In case your Excel version recognises the new XLOOKUP function, you could try the following formula in column K of the first sheet. It will produce the same result, but with more flexibility.

=XLOOKUP([@Category],Table1[Category],Table1[Submission Date],"",0)

If this is not the kind of logic you had in mind, please clarify your intentions.