how to add colors without using the template for tables

Copper Contributor

I am new to this and am doing my best to learn daily. I am making a chart that lists where I spend money on bills and how much. i am attempting to put the colors on the sheet where one line is blue and the other is white and vice versa. i tried to do this with the tables tab in excel but it will change my headers if i use it. Is there another way to do this without having to remove all of y headers or having to go line for line with the colors. please help. Thanks in advance

10 Replies

@Luscious1

There is another way, yes, and I'll tell you what it is. I'm curious why you seem put off by the notion that using the Tables tab "changes your headers." In what way does the change affect things badly?

Anyway, the slightly harder way is to use the "copy format" tool, which is the little paint brush on the Home toolbar, there at the left end. it there, at the bottom under the word "Insert"....

mathetes_0-1603335753482.png

Manually create the blue/white alternating colors by row. Highlight two rows and use the copy format tool to copy to the next two rows. Then highlight four rows and copy to the next. Then highlight eight and copy to the next. Etc. It won't take long to have quite a few rows.

Or you could use the Tables tab.

By the way, creating this as a Table offers real advantages you might find you want to use. For just one example, it makes it a lot easier to have Excel summarize for you all that you spent on restaurants, or movies, or gas....