How do you automatically remove filters from an online excel doc on sharepoint?

Copper Contributor

Apologies but this is all new to me and I am a teacher thrown in at the deep end with the current situation.

I currently have a whole school excel online spreadsheet on sharepoint so that multiple users can enter data. The problem is (I think) that staff are forgetting to remove filters and are somehow overwriting other staffs values.

Is there anyway to set up the doc so that all filters automatically clear after each user? Also incase im missing something could there be another reason why different data is being entered and removed across the entire document?

Thanks in advance!

12 Replies

@MMCCarte34 Hi there. First you should tell your students to apply the filters ONLY to them (individual).

To clean all the filters applied go to

Spoiler
DATA tab Photo1.png

click

Spoiler
CLEAR Photo2.png

in the SORT & FILTERS box.

LG

Thank you for this however the issue is that staff are not clearing filters. This then affects the next user and so on.

I need it to be done for them. Some staff are not coping well with this transition and are not IT literate no matter how many times they are supported.

Is there anyway to set it up that the document automatically removes all filters when the exit the document?

@Luis_Guicho 

You should tell your fellow teachers and students when they choose filters choose the option "apply only to me". This will not affect other users.

OK. Will they still need to clear their filters when they have finished adding data?

Thank you so much. Its a total headache for a large school staff.

@Luis_Guicho 

No they don't. Just warn them to apply the filters ONLY to them when they choose the filters. (a pop up message will apear asking if they want to apply the filters only to them or to all users).