SOLVED

Hide columns using check boxes

Copper Contributor

I'm new to Excel programming but seem to be making progress and am enjoying the power and flexibility of VBA. I have a spreadsheet that has two sheets. Sheet1 contains 25 columns of data. At any given time I only want to display a few of them, so Sheet2 has 25 check boxes that hides/unhides the desired columns on Sheet1. All works well until I move a column on Sheet1. The check box and code to hide/unhide the column doesn't reference its new column position but, instead, references its original column position. Here's the code from one of the check boxes on Sheet2 that hides/unhides column G on Sheet1.

If Range("A8") = "False" Then   //A8 on Sheet2 is set to true or false by its corresponding check box 

Sheets("Sheet1").Columns("G").EntireColumn.Hidden = True   //if not checked the column is hidden

Else

Sheets("Sheet1").Columns("G").EntireColumn.Hidden = False   //if checked the column is visible

End If

Is there a way for the hide/unhide code to reference the same column no matter where it is moved by the user?

Many thanks for any help or suggestions.

7 Replies

@jumpcut 

Does it work as desired?

Dim ws1 As Worksheet
Dim ws2 As Worksheet

Set ws1 = Worksheets("Sheet1")
Set ws2 = Worksheets("Sheet2")

ws1.Columns("G").Hidden = Not ws2.Range("A8")

@Subodh_Tiwari_sktneer

Hello and Thank You for your reply. When I check or uncheck the check box I get the following dialog:

Run-time error '9':

Subscript out of range

@jumpcut 

Tweak the Sheet Names in the following lines as per the actual sheet names in the workbook...

Here ws1 i.e. Sheet1 is the Sheet where you want to hide the columns and ws2 i.e. Sheet2 is the Sheet which contains the linked Cells which turn to True or False by clicking on CheckBoxes.

@Subodh_Tiwari_sktneer