Help with Word to Excel export

Copper Contributor

Hi,

Just to start off, I'm not really good with Excel so apologies if I'm asking for something that can be easily achieved, but I am working on a certain export which requires exporting data from Word and importing it into Excel, and I'm encountered some issues.

I've attached a picture of the word file. It has data written in two columns. There's 2 pages, and each page is basically a question. I would like these to appear in Excel so that each line is a column, and each question is a new row, and each new line into a new column?

This is the Word:

Knucklez_0-1634227651771.png

I save this as a text file so that it can be imported into Excel.

When I import this in Excel, everything is in one column:

Knucklez_1-1634227761472.png

The only way I can get this to work, is if I do the Word in this format where everything is together and each part is separated by an equal sign:

Knucklez_3-1634228640814.png

It then flows into Excel nicely:

Knucklez_2-1634228569667.png

As you can see though, that last Word isn't user friendly, and quite hard to read. Is there a way to keep the first Word format with columns, and export it to Excel where it can separate each question (page) into a new row?

EDIT

Thanks for you response @mathetes .

Just to explain a bit more what the goal is here. So I have a template in Excel that will needs some of the data from these columns, but not all. I'm looking for a solution where power query can be used to get this data into Excel, and then clean it up so it only leaves the relevant data in the right columns, so then it can go straight into the template. Unfortunately at the moment, if I export from Word to Excel the columns as they are (or a table, because originally it does actually come as a table), it moves everything into one column which doesn't separate the columns as they are in Word.