Help with selecting dynamic last cell in column and apply formula to rows below it

Copper Contributor

Hi.  VBA and Macro noob here. Need help, please. I have a workbook that pulls order details from multiple worksheets into columns A to T, where column A is the order number and column K and Q are always blank.

I want to find the last cell in column B, then apply the formula from that cell down column B to the Order number in column A. However because order numbers are cumulative each day, the last cell in column B is never the same each (ie. "B5:B" is not suitable). Failed code is below.

I've also tried finding the last cell in column B, then selecting the whole row to the right, and tried to autofill. That doesn't work either. Can someone help, please? 

Windows("consolidate.xlsx").Activate
Cells(Rows.Count, 2).End(xlUp).Offset(0, 0).Select

'Range(Selection, Selection.End(xlToRight)).Select

Selection.AutoFill Destination:=Range("B5:B" & Range("E" & Rows.Count).End(xlUp).Row)
Range(Selection, Selection.End(xlDown)).Select

2 Replies

@dufusgoofus 

not sure I,ve entirely understood your question; however assuming the following columns are what yor describing, the VBA below will fill cells "b3:b9" with your formula

Orders (Col A) 

Formulas

(Col B)

1notEmpty
2notEmpty

Sub getLastRows()

Dim ws As Worksheet
Set ws = Sheets("mySheet")

Dim aLastRow As Long
aLastRow = ws.Cells(Rows.Count, "A").End(xlUp).Row

Dim bLastRow As Long
bLastRow = ws.Cells(Rows.Count, "B").End(xlUp).Row

Dim myFillRange As Range

Set myFillRange = ws.Range("B" & bLastRow + 1 & ":B" & aLastRow)

myFillRange.FormulaR1C1 = _
"=1+1"

End Sub

hope it helps or gives you a lead

@dufusgoofus 

"...column K and Q are always blank."
I first thought that information was not relevant, but now believe they are the reason for your attempted multiple xlToRight moves.  There are better alternatives.