SOLVED

Help with Macro Hygiene Please

Copper Contributor

It's not that the macros run slowly, or that Excel crashes, but it just takes a while to get excel selected when coming from another program or webpage. 

I tend to have to cut and paste a good deal of data into cells in the table I use. When it comes time to select the cell to paste the data into there is an annoying delay. When I remove all the macros it stops, but when I put them back in it starts again. 

All of the macros are just ways to manage the view of the table - selecting criteria from filters on the headers and/or hiding columns I won't need to bother with. 

I suspect that perhaps there is a better way to write my codes, but all my coding experience relies mainly on googling and adapting. 

I'm also pretty new to this - so not too sure what would be the best way to post the codes I have for someone who might be willing to review. But here's what I use:

Unhide_All (I don't think this one is problematic)

Sub Unhide_All()

If (ActiveSheet.AutoFilterMode And ActiveSheet.FilterMode) Or ActiveSheet.FilterMode Then
  ActiveSheet.ShowAllData
End If

Columns.EntireColumn.Hidden = False
Rows.EntireRow.Hidden = False

End Sub

Here's another for entering new information without having to look at columns and rows I don't need - my guess is it's one of the ones like this that are problematic:

Sub Referral_Entry()

Call Unhide_All

ActiveSheet.ListObjects("DG_TABLE").Range.AutoFilter Field:=1, Criteria1:= _
        Array("Open Referral", "Approved", "Accepted"), Operator:= _
        xlFilterValues

Dim Lastcolumn As Long
Lastcolumn = Cells(1, Columns.Count).End(xlToLeft).Column
    For i = 1 To Lastcolumn