SOLVED

Getting this msg "Excel ran out of resources while attempting to calculate one or more formulas."

Copper Contributor

I am having issue with excel sheet which keeps showing me this issue "Excel ran out of resources while attempting to calculate one or more formulas. As a result, these formulas can not be evaluated."

Never had seen this before- pls guide.

114 Replies
best response confirmed by GaneshIyer (Copper Contributor)
Solution

@GaneshIyer 

In cell D36 you have formula =30:294001 which means you instruct Excel to return all rows from 30 to 294001. Includes row in which the formula is. Kind of cyclic reference and never ended loop.

If you remove this formula it works.

@Sergei Baklan - Amazing it worked well for me. Thanks a million.

Happy Holidays and Happy New Year in advance!

@Sergei Baklan 

Any chance you could help me figure out whats wrong with my workbook?  I am getting the message as well.  I am a complete novice at excel but am trying to put together a workbook to calculate show estimates/costs for venue events.  I have been reading lots of answers on how to fix this error but cant figure it out.  Any help is appreciated!

@courtneykeene18 

I see no problems with your file, it works correctly (at least without mentioned error).

@Sergei Baklan 

I have a problem with my excel error.  The error message is "Excel ran out of resources while attempting to calculate one or more formulas...." I tried many tips and corrected formula errors but still has this error message when I save.  Hopefully you can detect the problem.  

Thanks very much, Sergei

@khoang975 

I found two issuee

-  'WB7-STS Structure IPL Cal.'!J473 had reference as =-475:29776.432, I changed value on zero

-  'FWD Cargo Bay'!I35 had circular reference (==I35+I117+I342+I490), changed on =I117+I342+I490

Please check attached file if works in your environment.