Formulas and Functions

Brass Contributor

Please Help - I'm no Excel expert!!

I am trying to improve a log of audit actions, more specifically their timescales for completion.

This is the formula I currently have in Cell M2:

=IF(K2="","D",IF(L2="","A",IF(K2<L2,"R","G")))

To give some more information for clarity, Column L is conditionally formatted from Column M. Column M is conditionally formatted from the following rules:

• D = White
  • A = Amber/Orange
  • R = Red
  • G = Green

What I am trying to achieve is keeping the formula working as it is but I want to add something to it that instructs the sheet to turn the completion status (Column M) Red if no date of completion (Column L) is entered and the timescale for completion (Column K) date has lapsed over the current date (Cell N1).

Audit Action Log Crop.jpg

Thanks in advance! I hope I have explained everything reasonably well!

Aaron

20 Replies
Does anyone have any light to shed on this?

Try:

=IF(K2="","D",IF(L2="",IF(K2<NOW(),"R","A"),IF(K2<L2,"R","G")))

Hi Ismael

Thanks for your reply but this hasn't produced the outcome I was looking for but it has stemmed an idea.

Thanks!

Please share the outcome you were expecting. I used the NOW function to extract current date but that can easily be pointed to a cell.

The outcome I'm expecting is that Column M to turn red if dates specified in Column K lapse over the current date. Regardless whether a date has been entered into Column L.

Once I figure it out I will post the formula.

If you want column M to turn red (R) when the K date has lapsed (which it will always do over time) regardless of what's in L, then this should work:

=IF(K2="","D",IF(L2="",IF(K2<NOW(),"R","A"),IF(K2<NOW(),"R",IF(K2<L2,"R","G"))))

No this hasn't worked.

If the completion time scale lapse over the current date it should go red, if it is completed (Column L less than todays date) It should go green.