SOLVED

Formula Trouble

Brass Contributor

I have a range of cells (C5:C31) in which a numeric value can be placed.  If 3 or more of these cells contain >=20, I want another cell to return "Warning".  I am far from an expert, but I've tried all I can do to figure it out.  Would someone please tell me how to write this dang formula? Thank you!

20 Replies
best response confirmed by Hans Vogelaar (MVP)
Solution

@janetm126 

=IF(COUNTIF($C$5:$C$31,">="&20)>=3,"Warning","")

You can try this formula.

countif formula.JPG 

>3! Thank you! I could not figure out how to add that in! I appreciate you so much.
@OliverScheurich, what if I needed an additional warning on top of the warning I already have? If C1:C31 >=100 AND E14=Warning, return Super Warning in another cell. How can I say IF AND when I am relying on the results of another formula (E14)?

@janetm126 

Does the formula in the attached file return the expected result?

@OliverScheurich 

Not quite.  I am tracking monetary losses for a month's time and the disciplinary action for each loss category: cumulative amounts, large amounts, and subsequent large amounts. C5:C35 represents the 1st - 31st.

Employee receives disciplinary action for losses > 20*3 in the month.  Cell 47 has the formula you provided (thank you!): =IF(COUNTIF($C$5:$C$35,">="&20)>=3,"Coach","")

Employee receives disciplinary action for a any loss of > 250. Cell C48 has the formula:  =IF(COUNTIF($C$5:$C$35, ">="&250)>=1, "Warning", " ")

So, now, if the employee has the "Warning" in cell C48 AND they have another loss of > 100, I need cell C49 to return "Super Warning."  I hope these details make my request clearer.

P.S. Column C is for January.  I need the formulas to work for every other month as well.  Will the $ in my existing formulas cause issues since it's anchored?

Tried your formula again and it does work! But it only references one cell being >= 100. How can I make it apply to C5:C35?

@janetm126