SOLVED

Formula to extract only numbers from the end of a string until occurrence of alphabet or /

Copper Contributor

Hi All

I am new to Excel. I want to build a formula on Excel which extracts only the numerical values from the end of the string until the occurrence of an alphabet or special character.

For example.

Column A is the entry and Column B should be my result as I need this measure to join two files.

A                                                  B

ABC 132/4X32                             32

US,9/24FZ,XYZ/ABC WIP             24

QWERT 4/2 x 24FZ AB AB           24

ABC UYI 9/24FZ                           24

ABC UIOP 10ML/9                        9

ABC YUIO 12/8Z                           8

Please let me know if there is a formula to extract such a level of information.

Any help would be appreciated. Thank you in advance.

5 Replies

@rmghosh 

Are numbers you trying to extract always two digit numbers?

Can you provide more such samples with the desired output?

best response confirmed by rmghosh (Copper Contributor)
Solution

@rmghosh 

What you're trying to do is not so easy to do with an Excel formula, but it is somewhat trivial to do in Power Query.

The process summary is as follows:

1. Create a query on the data you want to split the number from
  2. Create a new column that reverses the data you want to split
  3. Split the new column on digit to non-digit, keeping only the first split item
  4. Reverse the item obtained in step 3
  5. Split step 4 on digit to non-digit, again keeping only the first item
  6. Change the data type of the result of Step 5 to whole number
  7. Optionally rename the output column

Step 1

Put your cursor anywhere in your list of data to transform and use Data>Get & Transform Data>From Table/Range. This will create a query on that dataset and open the Power Query Editor.

Step 2

Use Add Column>Custom Column with this formula (assuming your list of strings is in a column called data):