SOLVED

Forms, Excel and Formulas

Copper Contributor

Dear Experts

I have a google form which I am trying to migrate to Excel and need some help with formulas and functions. I am not an expert but can handle the basics. However, I am not sure where to start with this and my attempts do not seem to be producing any decent results. 

The context is a school in which employees can apply for specific amounts of time off during a day. Some of this time of comes out of x amount of hours of "special leave" whereas if it is medical, then it doesn't. There is also a 30 minute break which needs to be taken into account, so that if the time off bridges the 30 minute break, this is not deducted from said special leave.  This is an example of the excel sheet (as created from a Form). 

ABCDEFGHI
Name & SurnameDateStart TimeEnd TimeHoursReason for Special LeaveIncludes BreakActual TimeWeek
John08/11/201708:15:0014:15:006PersonalYes5.545
Mary09/11/201708:15:0014:15:006PersonalYes5.545
Peter26/09/201708:15:0010:00:001.75MedicalNo039
Agnes02/10/201708:15:0012:00:003.75PersonalNo3.7540
Paola22/09/201710:15:0012:00:001.75PersonalNo1.7538
John25/09/201708:15:0009:15:001PersonalNo139
Peter20/09/201710:30:0011:30:001PersonalNo138
Samuel25/09/201708:15:0010:30:002.25PersonalNo2.2539
Stan27/09/201711:45:0014:00:002.25MedicalYes039

I need several things: 

1. In Column E, I need Column D - Column C. When I try to add an array formula, the value does not extend to include all cells in the column. 

2. In column H, I need a formula that will deduct 0.5 from the value of Column E if the value of Column G is yes. 

3. Column I provides the week number based on Column B. Not sure if I need this for the following steps. 

4. In a separate sheet in the same workbook, I need to know how much special leave each member of staff has utilised and how much time remains.