FILTER formula with criteria not working

Copper Contributor

Ok so I have 4 tabs worth of information: 

1) Site information

2)Company contact information

3) Company scope (which is what work types each company can do)

4) Company Span (which is which locations each company can work at)

Tabs 1 and 2 are unique entries and tabs 3 & 4 enter multiple companies and multiple sites. 

I wanted to make a 5th tab with a search so the user can enter a branch, and a work type, from a dropdown box then return the contact information for all companies that meet that criteria but I cannot get it to work!

I've never used this function before; I did confirm I'm on O365.  please see attached file with the tables in them. all tables are named and the two search fields are also named.

3 Replies

@JeBickel 

I'd love to help. I find the FILTER function amazing, one of the best features ever.  BUT the way you've laid out your tables and your named ranges (!!) is actually interfering with clarity and simplicity.

It's difficult for me to be sure what's going wrong here, but IF I'm following what you want to do, one of the difficulties is that you've got too many tables here....FILTER will go through one table at a time, and the selection criteria need to be in that same table in order for it to work.

It looks to me as if, the way you've laid out the data, you would need to search through two tables (or more!) in order to find a vendor profile that meets the combined criteria of Branch # and Work Type 

It's possible that Power Query--which on a Mac I do not have--could work for you; that's different from FILTER and does allow the use of multiple tables far more readily than does FILTER. For that I'll defer to some of the other Excel experts.