Extracting content from all cell notes on Excel sheet

Copper Contributor

I have used an Excel Sheet to record blood pressure readings for my health, and I have put a daily journal remark in a separate cell note for each day. I have hundreds of these notes, and I am trying to find an automated way to extract the content in each note (in order) so I do not have to open, copy, and paste each note's content individually. Can this be done?

8 Replies

@Noel_Sherry -

You can use the example custom function found at https://professor-excel.com/excel-extract-comments-text-to-cell/.

Function ReturnNoteText(cell As Range)
    ReturnNoteText = cell.Comment.Text
End Function

use as:

5.png

@ChrisMendoza 

Thanks, Chris, I see that code. 

I am a novice. I do not know how to create a macro, how to record it, save it, debug it, and then run it to do what it is supposed to do. Maybe this is just beyond me. 

But thanks, 

Noel

@ChrisMendoza 

Thanks, Chris, I will start there. 

Noel

Hi Chris, this function worked fine for me but when note changes my formula does not refreshes, do you know why?
Thanks in advance

@EloyMendoza- it looks like https://professor-excel.com/excel-extract-comments-text-to-cell/  was updated for threaded comments. I have this version of Excel now so I can't test on an older version. My guess however is that you'll need to refresh the formula manually (enter edit mode and then enter; or similar manually) or I suppose you could do some VBA on cell change to refresh the calculation.

Chris, Thanks for your quick answer.
For anyone still trying to solve this:

UDF (user defined function) is a way to make a VBA script work like any other Excel formula
so as pointed out below
'-----------------------------------------------
Function CellNote(cell As Range) As String
CellNote = cell.Comment.Text
End Function
'---------------------------------------
creates a new function in Excel you can use to get the value of the "note"