SOLVED

excel split text into 1 column

Copper Contributor

how do i select a range of many words and sentences and split the text into each and every word and then sort all of them into 1 column and then count the frequency that each word is used like a glossary so that i may become familiar with large documents very fast like a bible concordance? God bless you 

22 Replies

@dattmuffy 

can you share the workbook?

@Yea_So  yes! im sorry im new to this its my first post how would i do that ?

is there some user information i would need from you?

i believe ive already attached the file to the post also 

thanks 

@dattmuffy 

If you give an image the only thing to do is to look at it. 

If you're inquiring about one formula an image will do, however you're talking about separating words in a paragraph within sentences, not to mention if there are non visible system codes that can only be removed making assumptions that its there by creating a formula to replace that non visible system code with a visible one.

The reason I am asking if you can share the workbook is many.

1. how and where are the paragraphs (in rows? columns?)

2. what is the maximum words per row?

etc etc etc...

The only way to find out in order to formulate an accurate assessment to suggest a solution is to see the actual problem.  Without being able to assess the actual problem your guess is as good as mine.

@dattmuffy 

Here is an example of why you need to share your workbook:

dattmuffyExample.xlsx 

If you look at the formula in column B

=IF(D2<0,"",IFERROR(RIGHT([@[LOAD DESCRIPTION]],LEN([@[LOAD DESCRIPTION]])-(FIND(" ",[@[LOAD DESCRIPTION]],D2+5))),RIGHT([@[LOAD DESCRIPTION]],LEN([@[LOAD DESCRIPTION]])-(FIND(" ",[@[LOAD DESCRIPTION]],D2+2)))))&IF(ISNUMBER(OFFSET(ParseTable[@SUM],0,8)),LEFT([@[LOAD DESCRIPTION]],FIND(" ",[@[LOAD DESCRIPTION]])-1),IFERROR(LEFT([@[LOAD DESCRIPTION]],D2),""))

it parses the text in column A