Excel Rejects a my Custom Number Format

Copper Contributor

Good Day. This may be a simple error on my part, but I am not an expert so I seek help. 

I have custom formatted a number on a worksheet to look like this: 1,100 Sq.m. using the custom number format (#,### "Sq.m") . After saving and re-opening it, I opted to repair the file but the formatting is gone. Is this a setting problem?

Ho do I fix this? Thanks in advance.

6 Replies

@John1987 

Check the attached Workbook on the Sheet 1. 

Rajesh-S_0-1603530108223.png

I've applied the Custom Number Format  #,###0 "Sq.Mt",   and its working. Even I've saved & closed the file also quit from Excel and reopen the WB, found as it was.

N.B.

• I've applied these also #,### "Sq.m"   and (#,### "Sq.m"), check column D, F & H.
  • I've used this on Excel 2013 & 2016.

@John1987 

With your permission, if I can recommend you, add a file (without sensitive data) to your project.

Explain your plans in relation to this file. So you can get a solution that is tailored to your needs much faster.

At the same time, it is much easier for someone who wants to help to understand the subject.

A win-win situation for everyone.

Please no Picture, even if it is said that a picture can say a thousand words, it is certainly not in the case of Excel, on the contrary in some cases.

* Knowing the operating system would also be an advantage.

Thank you for your understanding and patience

Nikolino

I know I don't know anything (Socrates)

@John1987 

However, here is some information on Excel for web via user-defined number format.

Excel provides many options for displaying numbers in different formats like percentages, currency, and dates. If the built-in formats don’t work for your needs, you might want to create a custom number format.