Excel Performance Issues and Errors when PC Usage is high

Brass Contributor

I have been using Excel for over 25+ years and consider myself an expert. Excel cannot handle complex formulas and big data. Even without volatile formulas Excel can't handle much of anything you throw at it. As I type I sit and wait for now 12 mins because Excel is frozen. And why... because I deleted a column from a table. Holy crap. Make sure you don't ever paste from a FILTERED table into another sheet by accident either or you'll be waiting while Excel re-calculates each and every cell it pastes. Uggghhh FOREVER. Today went into a file to process a macro via VBA and I see the code in the project folder but when I clicked on my code would not show up in the window. Just a blank page where my career will one day be thanks to Excel. I had to open Excel as Safe Mode save the file and re-open it. Tables always seem to cause more headaches then they are worth. Excel has way too many flaws. We need better programmers working at Microsoft. Please someone make Excel better. I deal with this stuff DAILY.

13 Replies
only +rep

@heylookitsme 

You mention big data and filtering; that sounds database oriented in which case are you using Power Query and Power Pivot which were designed for that purpose?  Could you actually move the data to a database?  As you suggest, going beyond the point at which the workbook collapses under the weight of data is not going to be a rewarding experience.

@heylookitsme 

There is a whole website:

https://www.excel-nervt.de/

@heylookitsme 

run another instance and work on something else:

Yea_So_0-1620863017580.png

This data in particular is 7,400 rows and 300 Columns and in a Table.