Excel Optimisation

Brass Contributor

Hi people.  I am facing a typical issue. I have one excel financial model. Can you suggest any tool for optimization of multiple parameters with certain constraints .is it doable in Excel with any add-ins? Any other software is suggested? TIA

4 Replies

@sandipgumtya365 

I am not an expert in the specific area, but I can tell you that your inquiry is so very open-ended that even experts in Financial models would be hard-pressed to know where to begin.

You could help yourself be helped by putting a few more boundaries on your question.

To get you started:

• Financial modeling of what, precisely?(Stocks, Business Plans, Government Programs, ......)
  • What are examples (if not an exhaustive list) of the parameters that could be involved in YOUR financial model?
  • Constraints?

Excel can do a lot in this area. I assume you're familiar with the various categories of functions, etc., within Excel, but if you could describe a bit more your own level of experience, that too would be helpful.

@mathetes 

Thanks for the inputs.

The model is about Power sales.

The objective is to Maximise IRR while minimizing inadvertent power sales and maintaining a certain level of saleable power.

The are 4-5 constraints. Those are the product mix. ie. different source of powers (solar, wind Hydro ec.). Each source has its own per unit capex. 

If any more specific details are required, I shall share. Due to confidentiality I can't upload the model here. Sorry for this.

Looking forward for a solution.

@sandipgumtya365