Excel: Help! Formula needed

Copper Contributor

Hi there,

I'm a biological research masters student and I have a large data set. I'm working with seals so it is difficult to identify individuals. I'm trying to create a spreadsheet ready for data collection and have come across two problems. 

I have the following spreadsheet:Screenshot 2023-04-25 at 1.03.55 pm.png

Problem A:

The ID (identity) relates to which individual it is. At present they are named A-F. This is so that when they are identified, the ID that the individual is can be added in, as it may be the case that later in the videos the individual is identified. Is there a way for excel to change all related cells to the new number? For example, when the first "a" changes to "105", I want it to change all the "A's" in the rest of the data set to "105" for that date? There will be multiple different days and times featured on the data collection sheet. So if a formula is created that works for this, will it then change it for the rest even over different dates?

Problem B:

So far I haven't seen a solution for this yet. Is there a way for Excel to recognise the time patterns? I have tried the control+E method and Excel doesn't recognise the pattern, so I'm having to manually type each time in (which is every 30s over considerable hours). I have days of footage to do this with but limited time so wondering if there was a faster method of doing this? If not, well, long days it is!

Any help regarding this would be really appreciated! 

16 Replies

@SMcGivern 

I'm working with seals so it is difficult to identify individuals. I'm trying to create a spreadsheet ready for data collection and have come across two problems. 

So at least there are no concerns with violating their privacy here. :) It might be helpful, since that worry doesn't apply, if you could post the actual spreadsheet rather than just an image. Use OneDrive or GoogleDrive and paste a link here that grants access.