Excel formula to identify unreturned uniform

Copper Contributor

Dear community

I work in a school and through attempting to get more processes digitised, I am adapting my spreadsheet for passes from school and borrowed uniform. Sometimes students forget to return uniform and I don't always have the time to chase this as the rest of my job is very busy.

I have a sheet for the borrowed uniform and a sheet for passes, both with drop-down lists to select the correct student etc. 

What I now want is a formula to flag up a uniform issue when I am issuing a pass from school. I need it to tell me if an item of uniform has not been returned if the registration group and student name match exactly, anywhere in the table.

My current formula is 

=IF(AND([Reg Group]=Borroweduniform[Reg Group],[Full Name]=Borroweduniform[Full Name],Borroweduniform[Item returned?]="No"),"Yes","")

But this only seems to work if the details are on the same row in both sheets (which is highly unlikely to be the case). I need a way for excel to check the reg group and name from the pass outs sheet against the table for borrowed uniform and flag it if the item returned column says No.

I've attached a working copy with randomised names for reference. I just can't quite get my head around which functions I need to make this work.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Regards

Daniel

4 Replies

@DChinery 

In general one of lookup functions shall be used, depends on your Excel version (XLOOKUP, VLOOKUP, INDEX/MATCH).

An issue is that you have no unique records in Borrowed uniform, same combination of Reg Group and Full Name could return bot Yes and No, e.g.

image.png

Something else (Date?) is required to identify exact combination.

Hi Sergei