SOLVED

Excel comments

Copper Contributor

Hi everyone.

I've been using comments in excel spread sheets for some time without a serious problems but now

I find I am unable to change the font size and type in the comments.

I must have changed a setting somewhere / somehow but have no idea how to rectify this.

Any help would be appreciated but I am not too technically savvy. Thank you.

John

5 Replies

Hello @John_C_Addy,

Is it possible that you protected the worksheet? This could restrict you from editing the contents of a comment.

best response confirmed by John_C_Addy (Copper Contributor)
Solution

@John_C_Addy 

With your permission, if I can recommend you, add a file (without sensitive data) to your project.

Explain your plans in relation to this file.

So you can get a solution that is tailored to your needs much faster.

At the same time, it is much easier for someone who wants to help to understand the subject.

A win-win situation for everyone.

* Knowing the Excel version and operating system would also be an advantage.

Nevertheless, I would like to try to send you some information about the possibilities of comments in Excel. Its for Excel 2010, 2013, 2016..i dont try it in more versions.

Go to the cell you want.
Click this.
Then right mouse button
A selection window will appear.
Select the "Insert Comment" command.
A comment field appears.
You can fill in and / or change this as you wish.
Click on another cell and the comment is hidden.
You will see a small red triangle in the top right corner of the cell. If you go on it with the mouse (without pressing it) the added comment appears.

Format Comment:

To change the settings of the comment, go to the cell with the mouse (click - with the left).

After clicking, please click the right mouse button (stay on the cell).

The same menu appears as before, there you can edit comments (but also choose to show or hide). After clicking the "Edit comment" command, the comment appears, ready for editing.