Excel and Power Query: PQ is taking hours to execute

Copper Contributor

Hi, everyone:

I am new to Power Query and not sure why it is taking hours to execute the code below.  Because the data is sensitive, I am unable to share the file.  However, I can say that the file contains 300K+ records, and the following are the PQ queries I am executing (note: variable names have been modified):

= Table.NestedJoin(#"Transactions ", {"Account No."}, #"Orders", {"Acct"}, "Orders", JoinKind.LeftOuter)

= Table.AddColumn(#"Transactions", "Merge by Date Range", each Table.SelectRows(#"Orders", (x) => x[Ship Date] >= [#"Post Date - 30"] and x[Ship Date] <= [#"Post Date + 30"] and x[#"Acct"] = [#"Account No."]))

= Table.ExpandTableColumn(#"Added Custom", "Merge by Date Range", {"Acct", "Exp Type Name", "Product Description", "Units", "Retail", "Ship Date"}, {"Acct", "Exp Type Name", "Product Description", "Units", "Retail", "Ship Date"})

= Table.Group(#"Expanded Merge by Date Range", {"Acct", "Ship Date"}, {{"AllData", each _, type table [#"Post Date - 30"=nullable date, #”Post Date”=nullable date, #"Post Date + 30"=nullable date, #" Account No."=nullable text, Type=nullable text, Amount=nullable number, Acct=nullable text, Exp Type Name=nullable text, Product Description=nullable text, Units=nullable number, Retail=nullable number, Ship Date=nullable date]}, {"Sum of Retail", each List.Sum([Retail]), type nullable number}})

= Table.ExpandTableColumn(#"Grouped Rows", "AllData", {"Post Date - 30", "Post Date", "Post Date + 30", "Account No.", "Type", "Amount", "Acct", "Exp Type Name", "Product Description", "Units", "Retail", "Ship Date"}, {"Post Date - 30", "Post Date", "Post Date + 30", " Account No.", "Account Type", "Amount", "Acct.1", "Exp Type Name", "Product Description", "Units", "Retail", "Ship Date.1"})

= Table.RemoveColumns(#"Expanded AllData",{"Acct", "Ship Date"})

= Table.RenameColumns(#"Removed Columns",{{"Acct.1", "Account No."}, {"Ship Date.1", "Ship Date"}})