Excel and Power Query: Merge Using Most Recent Date

Copper Contributor

Hi, everyone:

I was able to merge(inner join) a transaction table with an owner info table using account number as my key to get the following results:

xJYzz.png

I need the transactions to be linked to the current owner(s) of the account. But as you can see, for the 9/16/2016 transaction, it is also linked to an owner who did not own the account until much later. Similarly, the 11/27/2020 transaction needs to be linked to the newer owner, so I am looking for something like this:

8VXRU.png

Since the secondary owner does not change, Mary applies to both transactions.

For other accounts, it is also possible for the primary owner to remain the same while the secondary owner has changed. There are also accounts in which there are up to 4 secondary owners.

So, in short, I need the transaction dates to match up with the previous, most recent Owner Change Date for both primary and secondary owner(s).

I am new to Power Query, so I do not know whether this is better done using PQ or simply Excel functions/formulas. Or maybe there are additional data manipulation/transformation steps I need to take before this...?

Any input would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you.

3 Replies

@Cindysc1218 Difficult to be thoroughly test on such a small data set, but the attached file seems to achieve what you describe. Please see if this would work on your real data as well. If not, come back with a more realistic example of your data. Perhaps you can share a link to your workbook (Onedrive, Dropbox or similar).

@Riny_van_Eekelen Hi, Riny!  Thank you for answering my question.  It was good to know I was on the right track and I was able to take action that appears to be working the way I need it to (I've spent much time examining the results).

I had done something similar to your method, but I had to make some adjustments that I am not sure why:

1. Why is ChangeDate sorted in descending order?