Excel and access working together

Copper Contributor

I am trying to use access as my database for excel to pull my customer list and separate by zip codes.

I am new to excel so sorry if this is basic. 

8 Replies
WHAT, exactly, is your question?
What formula do I use to pull customers from my access database into excel sheets by zip codes

@jslay001 

My reason for asking, and this is still true: it seems to me that you're mixing two steps that could be entirely separate into one request.

Do you know how to import data from Access? (I don't; haven't done it, although I suspect it's pretty straightforward if you know the particulars of the Access database.)

I do know, once you have the data in Excel, how to sort it by Zip code.

My first suggestion, therefore, would be to break the two steps apart; not try to have a single formula to do it all. 

But then, again, it's possible that something like Power Query can do it all in one step. Here's a link that might help you learn how to do that. I'm sure there are also YouTube videos that can walk you through the steps. 

@mathetes it may be very well possible that I can't do what I'm trying to do. Again I am new at Excel and I have done all the help things on Excel and watch some videos but I was asked to try and create this program by my employer. Since posting my original question I have found a way to import my Access Data into Excel. I need to take my customer list and spread it out between different sheets based on area code. I can do it using the filter but I am trying to get the sheets to populate as I put new information in automatically

if you work with Access,know something about sql。
I am not sure what you want in details.

I know how to filter data with sql where sub clause.
may like below

select * from tbl where cust like '%specific customer%'
separate by zip codes.

what you mean separate by zip Codes?
can you show some data and expected results please?